20 Books I’m Probably Never Going to Read

 

I try to be versatile with my reading choices, and sometimes you read a book that you don’t expect to like that surprises you. Nevertheless, with so many books I actually WANT to read, there are some that I just have to admit that I’m not interested in. Some of these books are undoubtedly good literature but not ones I’m particularly interested in, and some of them are in all likelihood utter garbage, so not all of these books are created equal but none of them are ones I’ll be likely to pick up any time soon.-


 

  1. Dangerous by Milo Yiannopoulos

Milo Yiannopoulos is a disgusting human being and skimming through this book online out of morbid curiosity is enough for me.


 

2. Fire and Fury: Inside the Trump White House by Michael Wolff

I’m all for exposing Trump for the corrupt P.O.S. he is but I’ve heard this book is poorly written and just trashy.


3. Fifty Shades of Grey by EL James

Is any explanation even needed on why I might not want to waste my time with this ‘book?’


 

4. Dear John by Nicholas Sparks

That goes for pretty much any of Sparks’ work. My mom has read some of his stuff and it sounds way too saccharine for me .


 

5. Flowers in the Attic by VC Andrews

I’ve heard she’s just kind of a shit writer, and I try to stay away from trashy books.


 

6. War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy

Unlike the books on this list so far, I’m sure this is a very good book; I just don’t  have the patience for it.


 

7. The Brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoyevsky

Ditto. My brother is listening to this book right now on audiobook, and I’m proud of him, but I couldn’t do it.


 

8. Moby Dick by Herman Melville

Probably a great book, but I’ve heard it’s kind of a plodding read and it just doesn’t sound like my cup of tea.


 

9. Left Behind series by Tim LaHaye & Jerry B. Jenkins

I’m agnostic so I’m not into the whole fundamentalist Christian thing and I don’t feel I have any reason to read these.


 

10. The Host by Stephanie Meyer

I read Twilight, that’s enough for me. I just don’t think Meyer is a very good writer, she’s living proof that commercial success doesn’t equal talent.


 

11. Uncle Tom’s Cabin by Harriet Beecher Stowe

I understand this is a really didactic, black-and-white (no pun intended) portrayal of race relations and I’m not really interested in reading it.


12. It by Stephen King

I think it was hearing about the child orgy scene that turned me off of this one. 😛


 

13. Dreamcatcher by Stephen King

My parents bought this on audiobook a while back and they assured me it was awful.


 

14. All the Ugly and Wonderful Things by Bryn Greenwood

It sounds like this book glorifies pedophilia to a certain extent and I am definitely not okay with that.


 

15. The Faith of Donald J. Trump by David Brody and Scott Lamb

I’m sorry, I’m still in shock that this book even exists. 😛


16. 23 Minutes of Hell by Bill Wiese

Sounds like B.S. to me.


 

17. Heaven is for Real by Todd Burpo with Lynn Vincent

I’m highly skeptical of near-death experience stories, and this book just doesn’t sound like it would appeal to me.


 

18. The Silmarillion by J.R.R Tolkien

I’m not a huge fan of LOTR anyway and this sounds way too dense for me.


 

19. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

I think I could get past Card’s homophobia, but my mom was reading this to my brother a while back and I really didn’t care for the writing style, especially the dialogue. It was so over-the-top! It’s not something I’m totally adverse to reading, but I’m not particularly interested in it either.


 

20. Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell

It just doesn’t seem like something I’d be particularly interested in, and I understand that it’s pretty overtly racist too.

 

 

 

Leave a comment