Book Review: Good Dog. Stay. by Anna Quindlen

Image result for good dog stay by anna quindlen

Title: Good Dog. Stay.

Author: Anna Quindlen

Genre: Memoir

Number of Pages: 96

Rating: C

Recommended?: No


 

    

     Good Dog. Stay. is a book I probably should have loved, or at least really liked. I’m a huge dog person and I can relate to loving and losing a beloved pet. This book centers around the late Beau, a dopey Labrador Retriever who instilled sunshine into the lives of Anna Quindlen and her family. Beau seems like he was 100% typical dog, which was a big part of what made him so appealing.

 

I’m not really sure what to say about this book. I often really like books that are a little on the short side, but in this case there’s very little here. I can tell Anna Quindlen’s a pretty good writer and she even made me laugh a few times (and, of course, tear up a few others) but this is barely a book.

 

It’s closer in length to an essay and a large portion of it is filled with black-and-white photos that take up the whole page or sometimes even two pages. I thought it felt a little lame to publish something as a book that could have easily be posted for people to read for free online, and although it had a nice sentiment to it I don’t think it’s something that will stick with me at all.

One thought on “Book Review: Good Dog. Stay. by Anna Quindlen

Leave a comment