Top Ten Tuesday: Characters I’d Name a Pet After

What's in a name? - Premier Pet Supply

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish in June of 2010 and was moved to That Artsy Reader Girl in January of 2018. This Tuesday’s topic is ‘Characters I’d name a pet after.’ I don’t do TTT super consistently but I thought this would be fun.


  1. Coraline (Coraline by Neil Gaiman)

This would be a good name for a dog or a cat, but especially a cat.

National Black Cat Day | Humane Society Naples

2. Hobbes (Calvin and Hobbes by Bill Watterson)

I know this one is kind of obvious, but ‘Calvin and Hobbes’ is an amazing comic strip and I had to add it.

Orange Tabby Cats Facts, Personality And Genetics

3. Wash (Joss Whedon’s Firefly)

I know this is kind of a stretch since Firefly is a TV series, but it also has a number of tie-in graphic novels. I think Wash would be a good name for a dog.

Why Do Dogs Tilt Their Heads? – American Kennel Club

4. Zaphod Beeblebrox (The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams)

Let's Talk Dogs With Different-Colored Eyes, or Heterochromia in Dogs

5. Dobby (Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling)

Why are Sphynx cats hairless? - BBC Science Focus Magazine

6. Shiloh (Shiloh by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor)

Cutest Pictures of Beagles | POPSUGAR Pets

7. Winn-Dixie (Because of Winn-Dixie by Kate DiCamillo)

Winn Dixie...from Because of Winn Dixie | Old dogs, Therapy dogs, Dog  adoption

8. Eli (Let the Right One In by John Ajvide Lindqvist)

This is one of those rare occurrences where I think the movie adaptation was actually way better than the book (the original Let the Right One In is my all-time favorite film,) but regardless I just really like the name.

13 Gorgeous Grey Cat Breeds | LoveToKnow

9. Nimona (Nimona by Noelle Stevenson)

Jack Russell Terrier Puppies: Cute Pictures And Facts - DogTime

10. Lemony Snicket (Pen name of Daniel Handler)

Top 14 Dog Breeds With Big Eyes (With Pictures) | Doggie Designer

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Characters I’d Name a Pet After

Leave a comment